Why I’m part of this fight.

After hearing about my involvement in Freedom Flannels, one of my close friends approached me. She said “I had no idea you cared about these things”… and I thought to myself “I had no idea I care this much about these things”. Truth is, I’ve always cared, but I’ve never done anything about it. I’ve always held these things close to my chest but, like many others, I hid from the reality of the situation and adopted the “out of sight, out of mind” philosophy.

So, why now? When I heard Alex present his speech, I knew I was on board. After hearing the facts, I did a little digging and watched a few videos – and it was then I knew that I couldn’t do nothing.

Truth is, I’ve come from a place where human trafficking is a norm – I spent much of my childhood there. It’s not something people want to be involved in, but it exists and nobody has the courage to do anything about it. When I was younger, I went to schools with kids that just randomly vanished. We asked questions for a day or two, but it wasn’t long till those children were forgotten. People knew these things happened, and they just sort of accepted it. No one fought, no one looked hard enough and not many made a difference. And after watching these videos and reading the facts; I couldn’t help but think of what these children went through. It hit close to home.

You might think that child sex trafficking isn’t a global problem, you may believe that it’s only a criminal enterprise that exists in the third world. This isn’t the case – in fact, there are between 14,500 and 17,500 humans being trafficked into the US annually. Of this, 50% and over are minors – and the average age of a victim is 12 years old. The global market of child trafficking is worth over $12 billion a year with over 1.2 million child victims. Human trafficking is the fastest growing criminal enterprise worldwide – and in the words of Tim Ballard, “good people just don’t know how vast the problem really is”.

3

What do we do about it? What can you do about it? We fight for these children – we bring you products and the profits are funnelled directly into operations that rescue the victims and bring justice to the perpetrators. Your efforts, purchases and you spreading the word helps us fight. It helps us raise awareness and it gets people to drop the “out of sight, out of mind philosophy”.

So, why now? Well, why not now? I’m part of the fight – I can’t let my inaction destroy the lives of these children. I’m part of this for the forgotten children that I never asked again about.
I’m here for their families, all the people that couldn’t stop asking about them.
I’m here to make sure that one day, every child will be safe from this.
I’m here to make child sex slavery a bitter memory.
I’m here to create a better future for these children.
I’m here to make a difference as part of Freedom Flannels.

Join us; help us fight the good fight.

Jaz.

Published by

freedomflannels

We are a humble company that exist to stamp out sex slavery! https://m.facebook.com/FreedomFlannels/ Freedomflannels.wordpress.org http://freedomflannels.wix.com/freedomflannels https://twitter.com/FreedomFlannels Snapchat: freedomflannelsofficial Instagram: freedomflannelsofficial

Leave a Reply

